Hello Again Pop

My great grandfather Arthur, better known as Pop, passed before I was born, though I’ve heard so much about him its like I was there. If you have read my earlier posts about my family, he is the lovely man who wrote the poem for his wife Iris. Unfortunately I do not have a photo to upload at the moment, I’ve added it to my ‘to do’ list so I can fill in the blanks. I’m sure my Mum has a photo of him dressed as the cheeky Andy Capp in the local town parade somewhere. Instead I’ve located a photo of the family, Iris, Arthur and their children (my grandma and her siblings)

Born in 1909, little unsure of the town he was born in but it was over in England, my guess would be Lancashire. He and Iris married in 1930. Their marriage was soon followed by children, 4 in fact, 2 sons and 2 daughters. There was a little secret with the wedding and after talking with Iris I soon found what it was. The wedding was in mid January of 1930, Arthur and Iris’s first child was born in mid June of that year, I always thought pregnancies lasted 9 months, looks like this one was started a little earlier than the wedding. Bit of a no no back in those days but it never changed their relationship or love for each other.

Needing a sea change, Arthur moved the family to Australia after aquiring a job in a laundromat in South Australia. He didn’t send for the family until he had accommodation and finances first to support them all.

I can only imagine how much of a challenge it was to move an entire family overseas to a foreign country, away from your family and all you know well.

This side of my family is a bit of an unknown, there doesn’t seem to be a family bible or any other genealogy to go off and much of the family is still back in the United Kingdom. Much of what I have done with this side of the family has been from word of mouth first and then checked via census records and the like.

If you would like to know some helpful websites, leave a comment and I can list many for you that should be of some help 🙂

Leave a Reply

