Scrumptious pies!

I’ve always been the sort of person who is, for some reason, better at making cakes, muffins and sweets than making a dinner. Maybe its because I have a bit of a sweet tooth 🙂

Today I got a little adventurous and, since I had run out of cotton to finish off the quilt I had been working hard on, decided to get creative in the kitchen.

Grandma always used to make a wonderful Lemon Meringue Pie and I hadn’t had one, or even a slice of one in what felt like forever and lately I’d been seeing them everywhere. Today though, I decided to make not just one, but 12 of them, mini versions of course using my muffin tray 🙂

Since I didn’t have my own recipe, I looked online to find one that was very much like grandma’s, I was in luck, this link is a fantastic and simple way to make a stunning Lemon Meringue Pie, all I did different was cut out circles in the pastry to line the muffin tray cups, thats it, the rest is the same, same quantities and time.

Simply spoon out the mixture evenly between the 12 of them and you’re laughing.

This is how mine turned out.

20130205_151358Little tip, try and keep the meringue from touching the tray as it makes it difficult to get the delicious little pies out without tearing the meringue off.

20130205_153110Sure the pastry isn’t perfect and the lemon is showing in some of them but you know what, I kinda like that, shows they are home made and filled with love 🙂

The best thing about these tasty little treats is that my partner can take them with him to work and eat them on the go, beats slicing up cake in the truck any day.

2 thoughts on “Scrumptious pies!

  1. Those are some sexy looking cakes, I am the exact opposite. Anything savory usually turns out pretty good, sweet stuff is a hit and miss for me. But then I don’t have much of a sweet tooth so I don’t bake much.

    1. Lucky you, have to really be motivated to make a beautiful dinner, well, as beautiful as the sweets I make. I’ll have to keep in touch and check out some of your recipes to see what creative masterpieces you make in the kitchen 🙂

Leave a Reply

