My fairy godmother must be here somewhere

Romeo, Romeo, wherefore art thou Romeo. This is something which could be called out while looking out over the balcony of one of these beautiful fairytale-like castles.

We all know about the wonderful Edinburgh Castle in Scotland, but after that one, how many others do we all know?

Have you been to the Prague Castle in the Czech Republic? Though to call this one a castle is a bit of an understatement, it really is a bit more like a walled city, it has its own cathedral and palaces along with streets and houses. Quite a safe place to live really if there was a battle going on outside the walls.

d17337705fe611dfaf4f000b2f3ed30f PragueCastleGateThere is a lovely Romanesque, Gothic, baroque and Renaissance blend that is delightfully complimentary throughout this marvelous castle.

 

Not fairytale-like enough for you? How about the Palacio Nacional Da Pena, Sintra, Portugal. Resting high up on a mountain top, you could see to the ends of the Earth from your balcony up here, I’m not kidding.ย  If you want to feel like Juliet or even Rapunzel then this would be the castle for you.

5538661_U6e31 Palacio-da-Pena-Sintra-6

Standing firmly with its mixture of Gothic, Manueline and Islamic styles, the castle is colourful yet bold to say the least.

 

Third on my list would have to be Corvin Castle, Hunedoara, Romania. This castle has it all from the towers with the high pointed tops to the spookily scary stories that lurk behind every door. It is said to be Europe’s spookiest castle and is located on Dracula’s patch in Transylvania, need I say more? They say that Vlad was imprisoned here in this very castle.

866415942_6bfe824ae4_z Hunedoara Corvin castle Ammmit

This castle was a stronghold for the powerful Hungarian Corvin family in the 15th century.

So, which castle would you want to go and see?

4 thoughts on “My fairy godmother must be here somewhere

  1. I would have to say Sajjangarh Palace (the Monsoon Palace). It isn’t the prettiest palace but wow those views, especially in Monsoon season!! Although I’m also inclined to go with my daughter on her favourite which is Neuschwanstein Castle in Bavaria. Of the ones you’ve got up there I think I love the Portuguese one best of all ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hi Charlotte, I had thought to put up Neuschwanstein Castle because it is so impressive, but then thought that it could very well be one that a lot of people know, so I like to stick to places and events people don’t know so as to try and expand their knowledge I guess. I think my favourite castle would be Kochi Castle, but out of the three I put up, I think I would have to pick the one in the Czech Republic, the style just gets my attention ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

