Dedication, Patience and Faith

Some of you may already know about my business and upcoming website, which has taken a little longer than expected.

Many months ago it all started with an idea, an idea which was not only to help myself with locating things on the internet but also to help others. I’m crafty and creative by nature, holding down a 9-5 job in an office is not my idea of work, its more like a prison sentence and many other crafty people will agree with me here.

williamsinstitute.law.ucla.edu
Offices felt like a prison

Due to the situation at the time and people telling me to ‘get a real job’ or ‘get a normal job’ I went ahead and worked in these offices day after day, week after week, month after month never really succeeding in working in an enjoyable business.

The only thing for me to come out of working was the pay, it wasn’t the kind that would make me wealthy so I could afford everything I ever dreamed of, but it was enough for me at the time to save up and also spend a little on myself, that was until the stress of everything going on at work started making me sick.

I wish

Work is supposed to be fun, enjoyable, something you get out of bed for and can’t wait to start because you are so excited to see just what the day has in store. This job just wasn’t it. Due to a wonderful happening, I met my amazing partner and a couple months later I threw in the towel and gave up work, I was stressed almost beyond repair, 27 and it felt like I was having a mid life crisis already.

After some time off to recover I then started to wonder what I was going to do next, we couldn’t survive on just his wage, I couldn’t expect him to do all the work for the rest of his life, that wouldn’t be fair on him.

I took to pen and paper and wrote a list of all the skills and talents I have, all the qualifications and also all the things I enjoy doing the most and I came up with a wonderful business idea, but that was all it was, just an idea.

A wonderful idea
A wonderful idea

Determination played a big part in transforming this idea into reality, determination which came from me seeing the situation we were in and thinking ‘enough is enough’ I wasn’t about to see my wonderful partner work himself to the bone just so we could survive.

Although I couldn’t see exactly how this was all going to piece together, I decided to do what I could at the time and I believed that bit by bit the rest would unfold, and it did!

I started forming the database for the website and getting as much information as I could, all the while I was searching online how to put it all together and make it work. The challenge was of course, how to make it all work on a budget, there wasn’t a spare couple thousand dollars sitting in the account for a rainy day. Changes had to be made in the way of spending so as to afford this new business project, just the same as money is set aside for Christmas and Birthdays.

There was still one piece of the puzzle I was needing to achieve and although it was just another piece, it was a very important piece. Putting together the business means contracts, plans, agreements not to mention, setting up financial tables and doing all the registering necessary to make it a business. This is the commitment part, the point of no return, once it is all signed, sealed and delivered then you have to commit.

Missing piece
Missing piece

For something this big I wasn’t about to go it alone and a good friend told me about a course I could take where I could get all the help I needed in doing this, so this then became my next stepping stone and I took hold of it with both hands and never looked back.

Since completing the course, I am officially a business owner, I get to work my own hours from home in a business I thoroughly enjoy. There are still a few things that are a bit daunting here and there but the more I do them, the easier it gets 🙂 Though my website is not yet online, I am much happier than I have been in a long time, I have achieved something that if you had told me 2 years ago I would do, I would have probably smiled and kept walking.

Every day I am excited to get out of bed and work, that’s how it should be for all of us, even on a Sunday, best thing is, the more work I do now to perfect the website, the easier it is for me later and eventually I won’t even have to work eight or even five hours a day. I’m predicting that in a maybe a years time I will only need to work perhaps a total of 12 hours a week. Now that is certainly a goal worth working hard for 🙂

2 thoughts on “Dedication, Patience and Faith

Leave a Reply

